One of the very first meals I learned how to make was “Easy Pasta”. My sister, Kelly, and her family lived at my mother’s house for two months in the summer of 2009, and she would make it all of the time. Filling and healthy, this dish pulls together quickly and it’s simple ingredients make for an easy dish to pull together with what you have floating around in your kitchen. When Ty and I were first married, we were broke as a joke, and realized that this meal was also so cheap to make!

SO, there are a few ways to make this meal!

ORIGINAL “Easy Pasta”

Ingredients:

Spaghetti Noodles

Olive oil (Staple in my house, I  use it with almost every meal)

Garlic Powder (A good spice to have around)

Chicken Breast (at our house its either chicken breast, salmon, or beans at dinner time)

Montreal Steak Seasoning

Frozen or Fresh Broccoli (fresh asparagus, or cauliflower work well too)

Red Pepper flakes

Directions: To start everything off, I cook the pasta according to the package directions. I then chop up fresh broccoli or asparagus, and cook it. Sometimes I am a little big MacGyver and boil pot of water and use a metal colander to steam them for 2 min OR put them in a covered microwave safe container and turn on the microwave for like 2 min. I then chop up my chicken into about 1 inch cubs and cover them with the Montreal steak seasoning, yummy stuff. To cook the chicken, I put a skillet on the stove at about medium high heat (if you put it too high it will cook the outside and not the inside of your chicken, and uncooked poultry could have salmonella or a number of other growdies in it) add 1 tbs of olive oil, then cook chicken until it is no longer pink and a little tough. By the end of this all you should add your cooked spaghetti, chicken and broccoli in a bowl (or on your plate) and sprinkle with your desired amount of olive oil, garlic powder, and red pepper! mmmmmmm

Slightly Healthier Easy Pasta

Ingredients:

Spaghetti

Chopped Broccoli, Asparagus, Red Green or Yellow Bell Peppers, or Cauliflower (whichever veggie sounds best to you)

4 cloves of garlic

Parmesan Cheese

Olive Oil

Red Pepper

Salt

Lemon juice from a squeezed lemon

Chicken Breast (optional protein)

Montreal Steak Seasoning (if you make this with chicken)

Directions: I, once again, start by making my spaghetti according to package directions. If  I want chicken I put a skillet on the stove at about medium high heat, add 1 tbs of olive oil, then cook chicken until it is no longer pink and a little tough.
I then chop up my garlic and add 3 tbs of olive oil in a new skillet and cook on medium heat until the garlic becomes a little golden, about 2 min. I then add my veggies until they are slightly cooked but still a little crunchy, turn off the heat, add a 1tsp of salt, squeeze about one lemons worth of juice, sprinkle some parmesan cheese and add the red pepper. I then add the noodles and mix it all together in the skillet while it is still warm.

So here is a recipe that we have used in our house for a while now. When cooking, I recommend using as many whole food ingredients as you possibly can 🙂 Hope you enjoy!

