I was 19 years old when I found my sweet husband, Ty, and learned we were going to have a baby. Before this, I had always lived my life floating around without direction or concern for my future. When I look back on the early days of being pregnant, I remember being overwhelmed with options I didn’t even know where out there. I was so scared that I was going to mess something up, and I didn’t even know which direction to take my first step. I had no other choice but to rely completely on God. I was constantly praying for peace, for wisdom, courage and faith. I know that the Lord hears and answers our prayers.

I had terrible “morning sickness” all the time. I was working 20 hours a week, going to school 13 hours, practicing for a piano audition, planning a wedding, and moving for the first 4 months of my pregnancy. I was exhausted! I gave myself no time to stop and think about what was happening, no time to rest, no time to eat and no time to learn. The lack of a healthy diet was probably my worst enemy. I had no idea how to cook, or grocery shop. The only kind of diets I knew of, where the ones where you try to loose weight. I knew what looked like healthy food, but had no clue how to incorporate them into my daily life. I couldn’t see where I needed to start, so I didn’t.

It wasn’t until after I had my daughter, Israel that  I began to make a change. I had gained a lot of weight in my pregnancy (about 75lb) but that was not what encouraged me to learn more about eating healthy. My family and I moved into our apartment when Israel was  two months old. This is when I began sit down daily and search the internet for recipes. I read Mommy Diagnostics and learned the importance of cooking with whole foods, which basically means foods that are unprocessed or unrefined. I went to websites like Worldshealthiestfoods.com and researched how certain vegetables helped your body in different ways, how to cook them, and even what they looked like (yes, I was that clueless).  After this painfully difficult process, I wondered if maybe I wasn’t the only person who understood so little about eating healthy.

Through all of this, God had been turning my heart away from being a Music Teacher. In the beginning it frightened me, because a lie that I use to believe was that if I wasn’t going to school or working for pay, I was worthless. THE TRUTH is that my real worth is who I am in the Lord’s eyes. Ty would encourage me so much during those times where I would feel ignorant and useless. I was seeking the Truth, and a quality live for myself and my family. I soon realized that God had given me a passion for learning about nutrition and other alternative healthcare options. Still not understanding what it is I was suppose to do, I asked Him to help me see my first step. I was answered a few weeks ago.

I am going to be interviewing people who are in Alternative Medicine and especially Dietitians. If I do not know where to begin, I will humble myself and ask others. I need a community to encourage me to continue with what I know God has told me to do. So… I will write about my first “interview” in my next post. Please pray for me in this. I have so much passion to help reveal truth to people who are like myself. I am not in any way an expert, but if you are in the same place that I was once in, I hope that you will comment or email me at emily@tyrichards.com and I will share anything I have learned.

